FIFO 2024

FIFO : The International Oceanian Documentary Film Festival

“With a view to fostering and promoting reciprocal knowledge and understanding of the different Pacific Island countries and their inhabitants through the exchange and distribution of cinematographic works, as well as the recognition and distribution of these works throughout the world, it is formed an association, in accordance with the law of July 1, 1901 […]”.

It is in these terms that the explanatory memorandum opens for the statutes of the FIFO association, organizer of the International Oceanian Documentary Film Festival. Created in 2004, FIFO aims to promote Oceania and make it visible through documentary films. In the context of rampant globalization, its ambition is to bring the voice of the peoples and cultures of Oceania beyond its shores and to make it heard in Oceania of course, but also on the media scene. Finally, it aims to promote Oceanian cinema and filmmakers on screens around the world.

More than an event cultural sector, FIFO is also a pillar in the development of the audiovisual industry in Oceania. An essential professional meeting in the South Pacific, it brings together directors and producers, technicians and TV channels, representatives of foreign festivals and distributors around a common cause: Oceanian cinema. The festival is thus a unique place of opportunities thanks to the dialogues it triggers, allowing creativity to germinate in the light of the audacity of the women and men who carry projects as high as their hopes for the future.

Over the years, FIFO has become an expected annual event with Oceania and with cinema in Oceania. Unmissable in French Polynesia, the Pacific and far beyond, the International Oceanian Documentary Film Festival brings together more than one might say. Much further and much more than we think, to tell the truth, as evidenced by the last edition. An edition fully digital, accessible throughout the Pacific and in France. FIFO 2021 brought together participants from countries that had never before taken part. Through the magic of the Internet, the FIFO dugout has become digital, for the duration of a festival. It thus continued on its way by weaving the link between our islands and between our peoples.

The previous FIFO adjusted its sails in the storm of a virus that upset our lifestyles, the festival this year is back to its good habits. And if the magic of the Internet has indeed allowed our va’a to stay on course in very specific conditions, it does not replace the human connection. It cannot replace the conviviality and authenticity of a one-of-a-kind festival. The evolution of the situation allows us to welcome our public and our guests “at home” again and to offer them 12 films in competition, 17 films out of competition, 19 documentary and fiction short films and free special screenings, meetings, workshops and even more surprises prepared by our team for this new FIFO.

FIFO’s digital offer developed last year has not been neglected this year. It is even reinforced. FIFO viewers will therefore also be able to enjoy the films in the selection on our video-on-demand platform. We also invite you to continue your journey in Oceania aboard our canoe 2.0 with our e-guests by videoconference, live or in replay. Meetings with directors and producers from New Zealand, New Caledonia, Australia, Hawaii…

FIFO’s Oceanian odyssey began in 2004 for a journey rich in encounters and sharing around the audiovisual industry. Over the years, Tahiti has become the Pacific capital of documentary film, where Oceanians meet and reveal themselves to the world. If the FIFO canoe makes regular stops in different waters to share the riches of the 7th art that it carries, it has, however, never stopped its journey.

And her crew is particularly happy to welcome you back on board.

‘A FIFO ana’e tātou !

Our Goals

An Oceanian adventure…

FIFO has become an unmissable event in Polynesia. His Oceanian odyssey began in 2004 for a journey rich in encounters and sharing around audiovisual. Over the years, Tahiti has become the Pacific capital of documentary film, where Oceanians meet and reveal themselves to the world. If the FIFO canoe makes regular stopovers in different waters to share the riches of the 7th art that it transports, it has, on the other hand, never stopped its journey.

For 18 years, our festival has taken its spectators aboard its canoe for a unique journey in the great Pacific. Made of encounters, joys and dialogues, this journey is also punctuated by revolts, screams and pain. Through the selected documentaries, FIFO speaks for an Oceania rich in diversity and authenticity.

More than a cultural event, FIFO is also a pillar in the development of the audiovisual industry in Oceania. An essential professional meeting in the South Pacific, it allows directors and producers, technicians and TV channels, representatives of foreign festivals and distributors to dialogue around a common cause: Oceanian cinema. The festival multiplies opportunities thanks to the encounters it provokes and which allow creativity to be born and projects to come to life.

A multi-faceted event, FIFO is once again proving its unavoidable nature and is exp(l)osing this very special year, in 100% digital format and offering an exceptional programme: 9 films in competition, 11 films out of competition, a selection special fiction short film, another dedicated to documentary short films, meetings, workshops and many more surprises by the hundreds to discover on the web. Public and professionals, regulars and newcomers, take part in the unforgettable adventure of FIFO 2021 in more ways than one.

This festival has different objectives :

  • Organize an event for the general Polynesian public in February
  • Bring together all audiovisual professionals in the region and facilitate the development of joint projects and exchanges of information on current topics
  • Identify the wealth of national and international productions that deal with Oceania by putting them in competition in order to promote the best achievements and facilitate their sales on world markets
  • Create a market between Pacific documentary producers and global TV buyers
  • Promoting Oceania and revealing it to the world
  • Promote the Pacific audiovisual industry and stimulate creativity in the field

The competition

The members of the preselection committees have the delicate task of choosing the films that will be screened during the festival from among all those registered to be considered for FIFO. A rich and authentic selection which offers FIFO spectators an immersion in the cultural richness of Oceania. The members of the selection committees have very different but complementary profiles and all have one thing in common: they live and know Oceania from the inside, through their jobs or their activities. For several months, the members of these committees worked to view the films sent by directors from Oceania. They are undertaking a titanic task of capital importance. It is on them that the quality and sincerity of the festival depends.

  • Conditions of participation :

    The documentaries will deal with Oceania in all its aspects: cultural, social, economic, ethnological, historical, environmental, political, artistic... All video production media can compete. The directors can make compete several realizations. Only one work by the same director may be selected in the “in competition” category.

    Films lasting less than 15 minutes or more than 95 minutes may be submitted for the official selection, but will not be retained in the "in competition" category. They will eventually be selected in the “out of competition” category.

  • FIFO official selection:

    Category in competition: the films compete for the FIFO France Télévisions grand prize, the special jury prizes and the public prize.

    Out of competition category: the films compete for the audience award Oceanian fiction and Window-on-courts category: the films compete for the audience award for the best short fiction film All the films selected in competition will be viewed by a jury made up of audiovisual professionals or personalities from the religious and social world in Oceania. The directors of the winning films will receive a financial endowment which will reward their work.

  • The prizes awarded will be:

    - FIFO France Televisions Grand Prize > 500,000 XPF
    - Special jury prizes > 300,000 XPF each
    - The public price > 300,000 XPF
    - The public prize for the best short film of FIFO 2021 > 100,000 XPF

Pre-selection committees

The members of the pre-selection committees have the delicate task of choosing the films that will be screened at the festival from among all those registered to be considered for FIFO. A rich and authentic selection that offers FIFO spectators an immersion in the cultural richness of Oceania. The members of the selection committees have very different but complementary profiles and all have one thing in common: they live and know Oceania from the inside, through their jobs or activities. For several months, the members of these committees apply themselves to viewing the films sent by the directors of Oceania. They are engaged in a titanic task of paramount importance. The quality and sincerity of the festival depends on them.

Documentary pre-selection committee :

  • Michèle De Chazeaux: producer and radio host and member of AFIFO
  • Marie-Noëlle Frémy: historian and member of AFIFO
  • Moana’ura Tehei’ura: english teacher, choreographer and director
  • Goenda Reea: lecturer at the University of French Polynesia
  • Moana Brotherson: head of Marketing at Fare Rata and member of AFIFO
  • Pascale Briançon: sound engineer, filmmaker and member of AFIFO
  • Mareva Leu: cultural consultant and former general delegate of AFIFO
  • Frédérique Machoro-Siebecke: program manager at Polynésie La 1ère
  • Philippe Porcher: director for TNTV

Fiction pre-selection committee :

  • Marie-Noëlle Frémy: historian and member of AFIFO
  • Pierre Ollivier: vice-president of AFIFO and former general delegate of AFIFO
  • Claire Schwob: producer, SPACOM representative in French Polynesia
  • Hina Sylvain: member of AFIFO
  • Serge Thébaut: Naval officer and member of AFIFO
  • Hina Sylvain: member of AFIFO
  • Luz Copie: member of youth jury of the 20th FIFO
  • Patricia Lichon: executive director of Vaeara’i and deputy treasurer of AFIFO
fr_FRFrench

FIFO 2023

FIFO : Le Festival International du Film Documentaire Océanien

« En vue de favoriser et promouvoir la connaissance et la compréhension réciproques des différents pays océaniens et de leurs habitants à travers l’échange et la diffusion d’œuvres cinématographiques, ainsi que la reconnaissance et la diffusion de ces œuvres dans le monde, il est formé une association, conformément à la loi du 1er juillet 1901 […] ». 

C’est en ces termes que s’ouvre l’exposé des motifs en ouverture des statuts de l’association du FIFO, organisatrice du Festival International du Film documentaire Océanien. Créé en 2004, le FIFO a pour objectif de valoriser l’Océanie et la rendre visible au travers de films documentaires. Dans le contexte d’une mondialisation galopante, il a pour ambition de porter la voix des peuples et des cultures de l’Océanie au-delà de ses rivages et de la faire entendre en Océanie bien entendu, mais aussi sur la scène médiatique. Il vise enfin à promouvoir le cinéma et les cinéastes océaniens sur les écrans du monde.

Plus qu’un événement culturel, le FIFO est également un pilier dans le développement de l’industrie audiovisuelle en Océanie. Rendez-vous professionnel essentiel du Pacifique Sud, il provoque la rencontre entre réalisateurs et producteurs, techniciens et chaînes de télé, représentants de festivals étrangers et distributeurs autour d’une cause commune : le cinéma océanien. Le festival est ainsi un lieu unique d’opportunités grâce aux dialogues qu’il déclenche, permettant à la créativité de germer à la lumière de l’audace des femmes et des hommes qui portent des projets aussi haut que leurs espoirs d’avenir.

Au fil des années, le FIFO est devenu un rendez-vous annuel attendu avec l’Océanie et avec le cinéma en Océanie. Incontournable en Polynésie française, dans le Pacifique et bien au-delà de, le Festival International du Film documentaire Océanien rassemble plus qu’on ne pourrait le dire. Bien plus loin et beaucoup plus qu’on ne le pense, à vrai dire, comme en témoigne la dernière édition. Une édition entièrement numérique, accessible dans tout le Pacifique et en France. Le FIFO 2021 a rassemblé des participants des pays qui jamais encore n’y avait pris part. Par la magie d’Internet, la pirogue du FIFO est devenue numérique, le temps d’un festival. Elle a ainsi continué sa route en tissant le lien entre nos îles et entre nos peuples.

Le FIFO précédent ajustait ses voiles dans la tempête d’un virus qui a bouleversé nos modes de vie, le festival cette année, reprend ses bonnes habitudes. Et si la magie d’Internet a effectivement permis à notre va’a de maintenir son cap dans des conditions très particulières, elle ne remplace pas le lien humain. Elle ne peut pas se substituer à la convivialité et l’authenticité d’un festival unique en son genre. L’évolution de la situation nous permet d’accueillir à nouveau notre public et nos invités « à la maison » et de leur proposer 12 films en compétition, 17 films hors compétition, 19 courts-métrages documentaires et de fiction et des projections spéciales gratuites, des rencontres, des ateliers et toujours plus de surprises préparées par notre équipe pour ce nouveau FIFO.

L’offre numérique du FIFO développée l’année passée n’est pas pour autant délaissée cette année. Elle est même renforcée. Les spectateurs du FIFO pourront donc aussi profiter des films de la sélection sur notre plateforme de vidéos à la demande. Nous vous invitons également à poursuivre votre voyage en Océanie à bord de notre pirogue 2.0 avec nos e-invités en visioconférence, en direct ou en replay. Rencontres avec des réalisateurs et des producteurs de Nouvelle-Zélande, de Nouvelle-Calédonie, d’Australie, de Hawaii…

L’odyssée océanienne du FIFO a débuté en 2004 pour un voyage riche de rencontres et de partage autour de l’audiovisuel. Au fil des années, Tahiti est devenue la capitale océanienne du film documentaire, où les Océaniens se retrouvent et se dévoilent aux yeux du monde. Si la pirogue du FIFO fait des escales régulières dans différentes eaux pour partager les richesses du 7e art qu’elle transporte, elle n’a, en revanche, jamais arrêté son voyage.

Et son équipage est particulièrement heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau à son bord.

‘A FIFO ana’e tātou !

Les objectifs

Une aventure Océanienne… 

Le FIFO est devenu un évènement incontournable de la Polynésie. Son odyssée océanienne débute en 2004 pour un voyage riche de rencontres et de partage autour de l’audiovisuel. Au fil des années, Tahiti est devenue la capitale océanienne du film documentaire, où les Océaniens se retrouvent et se dévoilent aux yeux du monde. Si la pirogue du FIFO fait des escales régulières dans différentes eaux pour partager les richesses du 7e art qu’elle transporte, elle n’a, en revanche, jamais arrêté son voyage.

Depuis 18 ans notre festival embarque ses spectateurs à bord de sa pirogue pour un voyage unique dans le grand Pacifique. Fait de rencontres, de joies et de dialogues, ce périple est également jalonné de révoltes, de hurlements et de douleurs. Au travers des films documentaires sélectionnés, le FIFO se fait porte-parole d’une Océanie riche en diversité et en authenticité.

Plus qu’un événement culturel, le FIFO est également un pilier dans le développement de l’industrie audiovisuelle en Océanie. Rendez-vous professionnel essentiel du Pacifique Sud, il permet de faire dialoguer réalisateurs et producteurs, techniciens et chaînes de télé, représentants de festivals étrangers et distributeurs autour d’une cause commune : le cinéma océanien. Le festival multiplie les opportunités grâce aux rencontres qu’il provoque et qui permettent à la créativité de naître et aux projets de prendre vie.

Evénement aux multiples facettes, le FIFO fait encore la preuve de son incontournabilité et s’exp(l)ose cette année si particulière, en format 100% numérique et propose un programme exceptionnel : 9 films en compétition, 11 films hors compétition, une sélection spéciale de court-métrage de fiction, une autre dédiée aux courts-métrages documentaires, des rencontres, des ateliers et encore bien d’autres surprises par centaines à découvrir sur la toile. Public et professionnels, fidèles et nouveaux venus, prenez part à l’aventure inoubliable à plus d’un titre du FIFO 2021.

Ce festival se fixe différents objectifs :

  • Réaliser un évènement pour le grand public polynésien en février
  • Réunir tous les professionnels de l’audiovisuel de la région et faciliter le développement de projets en commun et d’échanges d’informations sur des sujets d’actualités
  • Identifier la richesse des productions nationales et internationales qui traitent de l’Océanie en les mettant en compétition afin de valoriser les meilleures réalisations et faciliter leurs ventes sur les marchés mondiaux
  • Créer un marché entre les producteurs de documentaires océaniens et les acheteurs mondiaux de télévision
  • Promouvoir l’Océanie et la révéler aux yeux du monde
  • Valoriser l’industrie audiovisuelle océanienne et stimuler la créativité dans le domaine

La compétition

  • Conditions de participation :

    Les documentaires traiteront de l’Océanie sous tous ses aspects : culturel, social, économique, ethnologique, historique, environnemental, politique, artistique… Tous les supports de réalisation vidéo peuvent concourir. Les réalisateurs peuvent faire concourir plusieurs réalisations. Une seule œuvre du même réalisateur pourra être sélectionnée dans la catégorie « en compétition ».

    Les films d’une durée inférieure à 15 minutes ou supérieure à 95 minutes pourront être proposés pour la sélection officielle, mais ne seront pas retenus dans la catégorie « en compétition ». Ils seront éventuellement sélectionnés dans la catégorie « hors compétition ».

  • Sélection officielle du FIFO :

    Catégorie en compétition : les films concoururent pour le grand prix FIFO France Télévisions, les prix spéciaux du jury et le prix du public

    Catégorie Hors compétition : les films concoururent pour le prix du public

    Catégorie Fictions océaniennes et Fenêtre-sur-courts : les films concourent pour le prix du public pour le meilleur court-métrage de fiction

    Tous les films sélectionnés en compétition seront visionnés par un jury composé de professionnels de l’audiovisuel ou de personnalités du monde cultuel et social en Océanie. Les réalisateurs des films primés recevront une dotation financière qui récompensera leur travail.

  • Les prix remis seront :

    - Grand prix FIFO France Télévisions > 500 000 XPF
    - Prix spéciaux du jury > 300 000 XPF chacun
    - Le prix du public > 300 000 XPF
    - Le prix du public pour le meilleur court métrage du FIFO 2021 > 100 000 XPF

Comités de présélection

Les membres des comités de présélection ont la tâche délicate de choisir les films qui seront projetés lors du festival parmi tous ceux inscrits pour être considérés pour le FIFO. Une sélection riche et authentique et qui offre aux spectateurs du FIFO une immersion dans la richesse culturelle d’Océanie. Les membres des comités de sélection ont des profils très différents mais complémentaires et ont tous un point commun : ils vivent et connaissent l’Océanie de l’intérieur, à travers leurs métier ou leurs activités. Durant plusieurs mois, les membres de ces comités s’appliquent à visionner les films envoyés par les réalisateurs d’Océanie. Ils se livrent à une tâche titanesque et d’une importance capitale. C’est d’eux que dépend la qualité et la sincérité du festival.

Pour le cru 2021, 37 films documentaires ont été sélectionnés : 9 films en compétition, 11 films hors compétition et 7 films documentaires courts dans la catégorie Fenêtre-sur-courts.
Enfin, 10 courts-métrages de fiction ont été sélectionnés cette année. 

Comité de présélection des documentaires :

  • Michèle De Chazeaux : Productrice animatrice et membre de l’AFIFO
  • Marie-Noëlle Fremy : Historienne et membre de l’AFIFO
  • Hina Sylvain : Membre de l’AFIFO
  • Are Raimbault : Réalisateur et producteur
  • Moana’ura Tehei’ura: Professeur d’anglais, chorégraphe et metteur en scène
  • Goenda Reea: Maître de Conférences à l’UPF
  • Moana Brotherson: Chef du service marketing de Fare Rata et membre de l’AFIFO
  • Pascale Briançon : ingénieure du son

Comité de présélection des fictions :

  • Marie-Noëlle Fremy : Historienne et membre de l’AFIFO
  • Pierre Ollivier : Vice-président de l’AFIFO et ancien délégué général du FIFO
  • Claire Schwob : productrice, représentante du SPACOM en Polynésie française
  • Hina Sylvain: Membre de l’AFIFO
  • Pascale Briançon : ingénieure du son
  • Serge Thébaut : officier de Marine